Working on the concept

Ok the beginning of this day was terrible – my partner did not want to work with the game anymore, and we were informed that we could not work with shock, because it is considered dangerous… Ok then! Back to scratch… and the divergence process continues – we try to come up with a new concept – we got valuable help from the teacher and he gives us some suggestions on how to make ideas come and flow. Awesome, we can go back on track then. She comes up with a concept called hug giver – with a heat pad in your shirt representing a hug. But what about the negative experience?

Then she just vanishes! Everybody working in pairs, and I was left on my own, without knowing what was going on… So I started talking to the teacher that I wished I was working on my own instead…but he said some wise words and tried to help me with the concept. Then she came back, and we discussed the concept further and I told her what the teacher suggested us to do.

So now, when we have a clearer idea on what we were going to work with, we were ready for some convergence to take place – what is the best way to execute our concept, what are our best possibilities? When I explained what we needed to make the concept work – money and time, in form of a modified Peltier device. Besides, the idea with hug for me sounded somewhat silly and pointless. So we have decided to make a similar and more fun version of it with sound as output, using a piezo buzzer: Creepy dude approaching you gets alarm sound, someone you like approaching you gets romantic, sweet tune.   And the input would be the distance measured by the ultrasonic range detector. So we decided to work with this concept, and started coding and hooking up our Arduino in the same day.  Was I happy with this choice? Not even close! I found it over-simplistic and “lazy”, two of the words I hate the most.

concept-3

Sketching the concept

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

