Brief

Today’s lecture  focused on wearability and on its social aspect. Several examples on how to achieve a social interactive experience through wearables were presented in order to inspire us.

Today we were also presented to the assignment guidelines more in depth.

I thought I was going to work on my own, and I had already some clue on what I was going to do, until someone came to me and asked if she could work with me… but of course…Now we start from zero again. So the divergence process starts – we together try to define and delimit the problem, what we should focus on. We started brainstorming a little having two texts as starting point – one about rich experiences, i.e. how to turn a negative experience into positive; and the other about wearability – where on the body wearables should be worn. We discussed that from our own perspective – what kind of positive and negative experiences we feel most drawn to, and where on our body it would be comfortable to wear whatever we come up with. We both disagree with the text on wearability and think it has a very masculine perspective – it uses the manly body as reference for which body parts are optimal for wearables and which are not.

I came up with some ideas that were quickly dismissed by my partner. She was not even that interested in listening to me and my ideas , and she would take my jokes and sarcasm seriously…We have also sort of misunderstood a little bit the assignment – we thought that we were going to create something that leads to a rich experience, but instead it was to create something that leads to negative experience and to positive experience – it could be the same design but used in different contexts or it could be two distinct designs.

So some of our ideas turned out to be irrelevant or not really appropriate. So we had to start thinking again and brainstorming. She did not give me much…was she confused? I do not know, but it felt like I would have done it better on my own than with someone who does not really show interest.

In the end of this divergence session we were thinking about creating a reaction game that entails both reward and punishment. The idea was to make a 2-play reaction game – the slowest to press a button would get a shock or something similar, and the winner, some warmth in the hand. The prototype would be attached to an armband. It would be the upgrade of a project I have made earlier.

She was however hesitating, not really fond of the idea – but the thing is she did not have any other better idea either… so we decided to call it a day and we would have the whole weekend to think about the concept or to come up with something new.

 

 

Leave a Reply

